Microsoft Blames Vista Problems on…Us


MS’ Vista OS was a dog from the word go, but according to them, it wasn’t, of course, their fault.

The main problem with Vista, Microsoft said, was that given the delays, uncertainty and significant changes in the software, the rest of the industry was not ready when Vista finally arrived. There are one billion worldwide users of the various versions of Windows. Hundred of thousands of hardware devices and software applications run on it, and they need connecting programs, called drivers, to work smoothly with it.

I have been forced to work with Vista for months now and have become, if possible, even more frustrated than I used to be when I had to work with MS’ last dog, Me. It freezes, collapses, unexpectedly closes for no reason whatever, doesn’t play well with other applications, including its own browser, Explorer 7, and is, in general, a royal nuisance. I can’t run my upgraded online email because Vista doesn’t know what to do with it and will try to load it for hours before giving up in confusion and despair, which it signals with an “Explorer Can’t Find This Site Even Though It Know It Exists and Has Been There Before. The Path is Too Complicated for Its Minute Brain and It Wishes to Recommend You Lump It” splash screen.

After epic wrestling matches lasting weeks sometimes, it’s nice to know that the culprit isn’t Microsoft but that Vista’s inherent intractability, glitches, gleeks, blips, and snags are really the fault of the library staff who weren’t ready to install it and all the other internet companies too stupid to write ancillary programming properly for it even though it is “proprietary software” and MS wouldn’t make the code available which makes it kind of hard to write such software until the product is actually introduced.

I should have known it couldn’t possibly be “Rushin’ Bill” Gates yet again pushing a piss-poor product on a trapped customer base because, as Obama says of his disaffected left, “where else they gonna go?” Why wait to fix the product’s faults if you can have your customers pay you for the privilege? And when it doesn’t work, you can blame them because “they weren’t ready” for your genius New Wave marketing ploy invention.

Fortunately, I have recently discovered that the college library downtown has eMacs and have been going there for the last 2 weeks, where my frustration level and blood pressure have both simmered down to a dull roar. It is almost a pleasure to surf again, so much so that I sometimes forget to write.

I had nearly forgotten what a normal MS OS was like. XP was actually MS’s best OS since Windows 95, maybe their best ever. I thought they were finally getting the hang of this thing.

I should have known better.

5 responses to “Microsoft Blames Vista Problems on…Us

  1. Whom are they blaming for the horrible, horrible ads with Seinfeld?

  2. I’ve been forgetting – why don’t you like the new Firefox?

  3. I don’t dislike Firefox 3, but some would say that’s because I haven’t used it. The word on it from Firefox veterans and fans was very bad – slow, glitchy, unreliable. Nothing like Firefox 2.

  4. I really hate the new Google browser – have you tried that?

  5. I’ve held off for years now on getting a new computer. I’m really hoping that I can just skip Vista.

Leave a Reply

