Women Blog, Too!


Thought I forgot, dinch’ya? I didn’t, I just didn’t have time to get to it yesterday or Sunday.

This week’s entry is another new blog (I’ve been scoping them out), only active since March, but it already has a thriving community of commenters, including Steve Bates of The Yellow Doggerel Democrat. Fanni Terrette’s blog, called–appropriately enough–terrette, is by turns sprightly, thoughtful, and opinionated, sometimes all three at once. As you know by now, I’m attracted by good writing, and Fanni is good. From her review of Fahrenheit 9/11:

Some reviewers reject this multi-genre approach. As Jeff Simon for the Buffalo News wrote of Moore, “Tom Brokaw, he ain’t.” To this, I say: Thank God Moore ain’t Brokaw, because the need NOT TO BE BROKAW or BROKAW-LIKE is one of the major points of the movie. (Besides, who could ever sit through two hours of BROKAW, and who would actually pay for it?) Simon also calls Moore a “slob” and a “bully.” These kinds of responses express well the sort of contempt in which the stiffly conventional talking heads of corporate media hold Moore, who simply out-maneuvers them in a multitude of ways and ends up at a point far closer to the truth than they can ever hope to reach. They must despise him for revealing them in their cold, impotent light.

See what I mean about all three at once? As far as Fanni is concerned, everything’s on the table, and pictures of Japan (she’s quite a decent photographer–

‘Noh mask, or, the face of the blog troll’, and funny too)

–alternate with political commentary, international news, and personal observations without ever giving one the sense that’s there’s anything odd about the combination because she integrates it all so seamlessly. Here she is at the Canton, OH airport, apparently a stopover where she was meeting her brother on a trip back to Buffalo from Canada.

Over the weekend, I found myself in the Canton-Akron airport (Ohio) and, while waiting there for a brother to fly in from out of town, I was startled by the sight of an Air Force recruitment poster. I only wish I had had a camera to capture it. But let me describe it, so that you can understand my reaction. Pictured on the poster was a handsome, smiling, broad-chinned man wearing a flight jacket and helmet, apparently standing on the deck of an aircraft carrier. What unsettled me was that, despite his bold, handsome features, the man was a stunning likeness of George Bush Jr. It was a muscled-up George Bush minus the characteristic smirk. A man in his fifties with slightly graying hair… not exactly the typical Air Force recruit. I asked an elderly couple standing next to me if they had noticed the likeness, and they gasped out acknowledgment. They, too, were offended by this cheap attempt to bolster the president’s macho-militarism by proxy.What does this suggest about our Air Force? And is the big-brother-like, insidious intrusion of George Bush’s likeness the only card left in the conservative hand that tries to brush a portrait of Bush, the military hero and foreign policy strong man? When I see George Bush’s face, am I supposed to think “tough, handsome, fighter guy”?

It’s this ability to connect a moment in a purely personal experience with its larger universal meaning that is the strength of Fanni’s blog. In our everyday lives, she seems to be saying, even when we think we’re isolated, unaffected by far-away events, there are connections all around us whether we see them or not. She wants us to look.

I think she’s right.

Leave a Reply

