Bush Family: No One in Iraq



If you’re not reading Krugman, you should be.And as long as you’re there, read William Broyles’ moving–and angry–OP-Ed piece.

The longest love affair of my life began with a shotgun marriage. It was the height of the Vietnam War and my student deferment had run out. Desperate not to endanger myself or to interrupt my personal plans, I wanted to avoid military service altogether. I didn’t have the resourcefulness of Bill Clinton, so I couldn’t figure out how to dodge the draft. I tried to escape into the National Guard, where I would be guaranteed not to be sent to war, but I lacked the connections of George W. Bush, so I couldn’t slip ahead of the long waiting list. My attitude was the same as Dick Cheney’s: I was special, I had “other priorities.” Let other people do it.


This is less a matter of politics than privilege. The Democratic elites have not responded more nobly than have the Republican; it’s just that the Democrats’ hypocrisy is less acute. Our president’s own family illustrates the loss of the sense of responsibility that once went with privilege. In three generations the Bushes have gone from war hero in World War II, to war evader in Vietnam, to none of the extended family showing up in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Leave a Reply

