Fartin’ Around


I can’t get serious about anything today. With everything that’s going on–Fallujah, Abu Ghraib, Sharon’s rejection, religious attacks on Kerry, fresh Bush attacks on the environment, etc etc etc–there’s a ton of stuff to absorb, react to, and comment on. And I don’t have the energy for any of it.

So I’ve been goofing off. So shoot me.

I’ve read a lot of serious stuff today but here’s what caught my eye: I got some heat over the name Omnium from a pretentious would-be Latin scholar who insisted it wasn’t even a word. Maybe he’s right, I don’t know and I don’t care. But I was curious if anybody had taken it as a domain name in case I should ever want to do that myself, so I typed it into the address bar.

Well, somebody has. There’s a small record company called “Omnium Recordings”. Here’s their logo:

Neat, huh? No, I’m not going to steal it, though it’s tempting. I probably wouldn’t be mentioning this except that the names of their recordings are so clever and..weird…that I wanted to share them with you.

My favorite: The Reptile Palace Orchestra.

Others include: Shi’ite and Onions, Boiled in Lead, and Felonious Beach.

Ah, the internet is a marvelous little playground for second childhood to romp around in, especially when you’re easily amused.

Leave a Reply

